CSAC Bulletin Article

CSAC President James Gore Joins CA Wildfire and Forest Resilience Task Force Executive Committee

April 15, 2021

Governor Newsom recently named CSAC President James Gore to the Executive Committee of the California Wildfire and Forest Resilience Task Force. President Gore joins Cal-EPA Secretary Jared Blumenfeld, Natural Resources Secretary Wade Crowfoot, Office of Planning and Research Director Kate Gordon, CalFIRE Chief Thom Porter, and local representatives Mono County Supervisor Stacy Corless, Chair of the Rural County Representatives of California, and Don Hankins with the Intertribal Stewardship Project on the Executive Committee.

“I’m looking forward to joining California’s Wildfire & Forest Resilience Task Force. Having navigated Sonoma County through seven natural disasters in three years, there’s no greater focus for me than on our resilience,” said CSAC President Gore. “This is an opportunity to further expand my commitment and service to not just Sonoma County, but to the entire state.  Let’s get to work!”

The California Forest Management Task Force was established in 2018 to introduce a more holistic, integrated approach toward effective forest management. The Task Force grew out of the state’s Tree Mortality Task Force, which was established during California’s recent drought in response to the massive die-off of trees across the state. Counties have been participating in these efforts for the past two years, developing recommendations that became the basis for a $1 billion budget proposal and Action Plan in this year’s January budget (more information can be found here).

For more information, please contact Catherine Freeman, CSAC Legislative Representative at cfreeman@counties.org or Ada Waelder, CSAC Legislative Analyst at awaelder@counties.org.

Navigation Term Highlight

Latest CSAC Bulletin

CSAC Bulletin Button
Navigation Term Highlight

Where We are Located

Navigation Term Highlight

Our 58 Counties