California Labor Commissioner Releases AB 1522 FAQs
The California Labor Commissioner this month released AB 1522
Frequently Asked Questions on its website.
Counties will recall that Assembly Bill 1522 (Chapter No. 317, Statutes of 2014) was signed by Governor Brown and provides that an employee who works in California for 30 or more days in a calendar year is entitled to one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked, for up to six six days per year. The bill was amended to specify that an employer is not required to provide additional paid sick days if the employer has a paid leave policy or paid time off policy that satisfy’s the bill’s requirements and/or provides no less than 24 hours or three days of paid sick leave (or paid leave or paid time off) for employee use each year of employment or calendar year or 12-month basis. The bill was additionally amended on the last day of session to exempt in-home support service providers, an exemption requested by CSAC and other stakeholders.
While the posted FAQs are helpful, CSAC is working with the California Chamber of Commerce and other local government stakeholders to address major issues with the language in AB 1522 that will most likely require technical cleanup. We will keep counties apprised of our progress.