CSAC Bulletin Article

List of SB 330 Impacted Counties Available Now  

January 9, 2020

The California Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD) released its lists of affected jurisdictions under SB 330 (Chapter 654, Statutes of 2019), which imposed restrictions on certain types of development standards, amended the Housing Accountability Act, and made changes to local approval processes and the Permit Streamlining Act until January 1, 2025, as noted in a bulletin article on new laws impacting counties.

The lists of affected cities and counties are available on HCD’s statutory determinations webpage. Impacted counties includes the following:

  • Northern Region: Alameda, Contra Costa, Sacramento, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Marin, Monterey
  • Central Region: Fresno, Kern, Madera, Merced, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tulare
  • Southern Region: Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, Ventura

A full list of the census designated places affected within each of these counties is available here.

CSAC worked closely with the author’s office and requested a number of amendments to the bill last year, which removed provisions waiving impact fees under certain circumstances, retained a deal that CSAC and others negotiated with developers on the Housing Accountability Act in 2018, and changed the definition of “affected county” so that certain limitations on local government planning would apply only to a limited number of highly-urban census designated places rather than throughout the entire unincorporated area.

Please note that the list of affected jurisdictions may be updated on or after January 1, 2021 to account for changes in urbanized areas or urban clusters based on new data obtained from the 2020 census.

If you have any questions, please email ComplianceReview@hcd.ca.gov.

Navigation Term Highlight

Latest CSAC Bulletin

CSAC Bulletin Button
Navigation Term Highlight

Where We are Located

Navigation Term Highlight

County Of The Week: