















A Commitment to Service











August 28, 2017

The Honorable Bill Dodd California State Senate State Capitol, Room 5064 Sacramento, CA 95814

The Honorable Cecilia Aguiar-Curry California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 5144 Sacramento, CA 95814

The Honorable Jim Wood California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 6005 Sacramento, CA 95814 The Honorable Mike McGuire California State Senate State Capitol, Room 5061 Sacramento, CA 95814

The Honorable Marc Levine California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 5135 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: AB 1250 (Jones-Sawyer) - Opposition and Request for "No" Vote

Dear Senators Dodd and McGuire and Assemblymembers Aguiar-Curry, Levine and Wood,

On behalf of the Contra Costa, Colusa, Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Marin, Mendocino, Napa, Sacramento, Solano, Sonoma, Trinity, and Yolo County Boards of Supervisors, we are writing in strong opposition to AB 1250. AB 1250 would impose a de facto prohibition on counties' ability to partner with local community based organizations that are vital to the delivery of services to our residents and your constituents.

The restrictions AB 1250 places on contracting for county services will jeopardize health care, social services, mental health, and public safety services across your district. Our counties contract for a number of critical services that we either do not have the expertise or internal staffing capability to provide in the most effective manner for our communities. We rely on local partners and their existing community relationships and infrastructure in order to best serve all corners of our counties.

By restricting our county's ability to provide services in the most cost-effective and efficient manner, AB 1250 will also increase costs for taxpayers and reduce funding available for other local services. This could result in significant cuts to program budgets, or elimination of some programs altogether. For these reasons, our Boards of Supervisors requests your "nay" vote when AB 1250 is before you.

Sincerely,

GARY J. HYANS, Chair

Colusa County Board of Supervisors

CHRIS HOWARD, Chair

Del Norte County Board of Supervisors

CAROL J. HACHINGSON, CAO

Lake County

JOHN McCOWEN, Chair

Mendocino County Board of Supervisors

DON NOTTOLI, Chair

Sacramento County Board of Supervisors

SHIRLEE ZANE, Chair

Sonoma County Board of Supervisors

DUANE CHAMBERLAIN, Chair Yolo County Board of Supervisors FEDERAL D. GLOVER, Chair

Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors

VIRGINIA BASS, Chair

Humboldt County Board of Supervisors

JUDY ARNOLD, Chair

Marin County Board of Supervisors

BELIA RAMOS, Chair Napa

County Board of Supervisors

JOHN VASQUEZ, Chair

Solano County Board of Supervisors

JOHN FENLEY, Chair

Trinity County Board of Supervisors