Officers

President Bill Brown Sheriff, Santa Barbara County

1st Vice President
Steve Moore

Sheriff, San Joaquin County
2nd Vice President
David Livingston

David Livingston
Sheriff, Contra Costa County

Secretary
David Robinson
Sheriff, Kings County

Treasurer Dean Growdon Sheriff, Lassen County

Sergeant-at-Arms Kory Honea Sheriff, Butte County

Immediate Past President Donny Youngblood Sheriff, Kern County

Directors

Tom Allman Sheriff, Mendocino County

Tom Bosenko
Sheriff, Shasta County

Geoff Dean
Sheriff, Ventura County

Steve Durfor Sheriff, Yuba County

Tom Ferrara Sheriff, Solano County

Steve Freitas Sheriff, Sonoma County

Sandra Hutchens Sheriff, Orange County

Margaret Mims Sheriff, Fresno County

Ian Parkinson Sheriff, San Luis Obispo County

Ed Prieto
Sheriff, Yolo County

Darren Thompson Sheriff, San Benito County

Presidents' Counsel

Gregory J. Ahern Sheriff, Alameda County

Adam Christianson Sheriff, Stanislaus County

Robert Doyle Sheriff, Marin County

Keith Royal Sheriff, Nevada County

Martin Ryan Sheriff, Amador County

Laurie Smith Sheriff, Santa Clara County

M. Carmen Green
Executive Director

Catherine M. Coyne
Deputy Executive Director

James R. Touchstone General Counsel

Nick Warner Policy Director

Cory Salzillo Legislative Director



California State Sheriffs' Association

Organization Founded by the Sheriffs in 1894

June 22, 2017

The Honorable Reginald B. Jones-Sawyer, Sr. California State Assembly State Capitol Building Sacramento, CA 95814

Subject: AB 1250 - Oppose

Dear Assembly Member Jones-Sawyer:

On behalf of the California State Sheriffs' Association (CSSA), I regret to inform you that we must respectfully oppose your measure, Assembly Bill 1250, which would restrict and limit the ability of counties to contract for services.

We understand the value of having public employees perform certain governmental functions. Conversely, there is also value and virtue in contracting for other services. Finding the appropriate balance in this regard is crucial to ensure the best delivery of services to county constituents while protecting public resources. Unfortunately, AB 1250 represents a massive thumb on the scale that will disadvantage counties and their constituents when it comes to the provision of governmental services.

By creating a tortuous process with which counties must comply in order to let contracts for vital public safety services, this bill will disadvantage those people who rely upon those services. In the context of jail operations, counties and sheriffs contract for and oversee a multitude of services and AB 1250 makes it more difficult to contract for these vital services at the expense of those who receive them. The bill's costly and burdensome audit requirements not only tip the scales unfairly against outside providers but will constrain the services that can be provided because these costs are born by the providers and will likely reduce the quality and quantity of these services.

Jails routinely contract for medical and mental health care services, substance use disorder treatment, rehabilitative programming, educational and vocational services, risk/needs assessments, inmate telephone and communication services, inmate meal services, and a host of other goods and services that either cannot be provided by government cost-effectively or that private provision of services carries increased inmate benefits. In the wake of realignment, sheriffs and counties have met with vigor the obligations that stem from housing more inmates for longer terms. AB 1250 will hurt the people jails are trying to serve; both inmates and our communities at large.

There are a number of considerations that must be made by a county when it decides to offer services to a population. AB 1250 inappropriately and unfairly disadvantages the portion of that process that relies on outside providers. In the end, the damage done by this bill will fall largely on those people who rely on the services counties provide. For these reasons, CSSA must respectfully oppose AB 1250.

Sincerely,

Cory M. Salzillo Legislative Director

cc: Members and Staff of the Senate Governance and Finance Committee Ryan Eisberg, Republican Consultant