# **CALIFORNIA STATE ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES**

SPECIAL EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING Thursday, November 5, 2020 | 4:30 PM – 5:00 PM

Zoom: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88480528225?pwd=T2Vzc0Y1UkU5MFU1OG9GazRqVVQxQT09

Conference Line: (669) 900-6833

Meeting ID: 884 8052 8225 | Password: 226728

### **AGENDA**

Presiding: Lisa Bartlett, President

# **PROCEDURAL ITEMS**

1. Roll Call Page 1

# **ACTION ITEMS**

2. Consideration of the 2020-2021 Board of Directors Nominations

Page 2-4

# **ADJOURN**

<sup>\*</sup>If requested, this agenda will be made available in appropriate alternative formats to persons with a disability. Please contact Korina Jones at <u>kjones@counties.org</u> or (916) 327-7500 if you require modification or accommodation in order to participate in the meeting.

# (**)**(()

# California State Association of Counties®

#### **OFFICERS**

#### President

Lisa A. Bartlett Orange County

#### **1st Vice President**

James Gore Sonoma County

#### 2nd Vice President

Ed Valenzuela Siskiyou County

#### **Past President**

Virginia Bass Humboldt County

н

#### **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR**

**Graham Knaus** 

# CALIFORNIA STATE ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 2020

PRESIDENT:

1<sup>ST</sup> VICE PRESIDENT: 2<sup>ND</sup> VICE PRESIDENT:

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT:

Lisa Bartlett, Orange County
James Gore, Sonoma County
Ed Valenzuela, Virginia Bass, Humboldt County

# **URBAN CAUCUS**

Keith Carson, Alameda County
Greg Cox, San Diego County
Carole Groom, San Mateo County
Kelly Long, Ventura County
Mark Ridley-Thomas, Los Angeles
Chuck Washington, Riverside County
Bob Elliott, San Joaquin County (alternate)

# **SUBURBAN CAUCUS**

Luis Alejo, Monterey County Erin Hannigan, Solano County Leonard Moty, Shasta County Diane Dillon, Napa County (alternate)

# **RURAL CAUCUS**

Craig Pedersen, Kings County Terry Woodrow, Alpine County Jeff Griffiths, Inyo County (alternate)

#### **EX OFFICIO MEMBER**

Ed Scofield, Nevada County, Treasurer

#### **ADVISORS**

John Beiers, County Counsels' Association, Past President, San Mateo County Carmel Angelo, Mendocino County CEO, California Association of County Executives, President

# California State Association of Counties®



#### **OFFICERS**

#### President

Lisa A. Bartlett Orange County

#### 1st Vice President

James Gore Sonoma County

#### **2nd Vice President**

Ed Valenzuela Siskiyou County

#### **Past President**

Virginia Bass Humboldt County

-

# **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR**

Graham Knaus

November 5, 2020

TO: CSAC Executive Committee

FROM: Graham Knaus, Executive Director

Manuel Rivas, Jr., Deputy Executive Director of Operations and Member Services

Darby Kernan, Deputy Executive Director of Legislative Affairs

SUBJECT: Installment of CSAC 2020 – 2021 Board of Directors

**Background:** The CSAC Constitution indicates that each county board shall nominate one or more directors to serve on the CSAC Board of Directors to serve a one-year term commencing with the Annual Meeting. The CSAC Executive Committee appoints one director for each member county from the nominations received.

For counties that do not submit nominations prior to the Annual Meeting, the appointed supervisor from the preceding year will continue to serve until such county board nominates, and the Executive Committee appoints, a supervisor to serve in the CSAC Board.

The highlighted names denote responses received for 2020-2021.

2020 - 2021 CSA				
COUNTY	CAUCUS	DIRECTOR	ALTERNATE(S)	CHANGE FROM 2020
Alameda	U	Keith Carson	Scott Haggerty	NONE
Alpine	R	Terry Woodrow	Ron Hames	NONE
Amador	R	Richard Forster	Jeff Brown	NONE
Butte	S	Debra Lucero	Tami Ritter	NONE
Calaveras	R	Merita Callaway	Benjamin Stopper	NONE
Colusa	R	Kent Boes	Merced Corona	YES
Contra Costa	U	John Gioia	Karen Mitchoff	NONE
Del Norte	R	Chris Howard	Gerry Hemmingsen	NONE
El Dorado	R	John Hidahl	Sue Novasel	
Fresno	U	Buddy Mendes	Nathan Magsig	NONE
Glenn	R	Keith Corum	Paul Barr	NEW ALTERNATE
Humboldt	R	Virginia Bass	Rex Bohn	NEW BOARD MEMBER
Imperial	S	Raymond Castillo	Jesus Escobar	NEW ALTERNATE
Inyo	R	Jeff Griffiths	Rick Pucci	NEW ALTERNATE
Kern	S	Zack Scrivner	Leticia Perez	NONE
Kings	R	Craig Pedersen	Doug Verboon	NONE
Lake	R	Bruno Sabatier	Tina Scott	NONE

Lassen	R	Chris Gallagher	David Teeter	
Los Angeles	U	Mark Ridley-Thomas <sup>1</sup>	Kathryn Barger <sup>1</sup>	
Madera	R	David Rogers	Robert Poythress	
Marin	S	Damon Connolly	Dennis Rodoni	
Mariposa	R	Miles Menetrey	Rosemarie Smallcombe, Merlin Jones, Marshall Long, Kevin Cann <sup>2</sup>	
Mendocino	R	John Haschak	Ted Williams	YES
Merced	S	Lee Lor	Scott Silveira	NONE
Modoc	R	Patricia Cullins	Elizabeth Cavasso	
Mono	R	John Peters	Jennifer Kreitz	NONE
Monterey	S	Luis Alejo	Mary Adams	NONE
Napa	S	Diane Dillon	Ryan Gregory	NONE
Nevada	R	Ed Scofield	Heidi Hall	NONE
Orange	U	Lisa Bartlett	Doug Chaffee	
Placer	S	Bonnie Gore		NONE
Plumas	R	Lori Simpson <sup>3</sup>	Jeff Engel	NONE
Riverside	U	Chuck Washington	V. Manuel Perez	
Sacramento	U	Sue Frost	Phil Serna	NEW BOARD MEMBER
San Benito	R	Jaime De La Cruz <sup>4</sup>	Peter Hernandez <sup>4</sup>	YES
San Bernardino	U	Janice Rutherford	Robert Lovingood	
San Diego	U	Greg Cox	Kristin Gaspar	
San Francisco	U	Rafael Mandelman		NEW BOARD MEMBER
San Joaquin	U	Bob Elliott	Chuck Winn	
San Luis Obispo	S	Bruce Gibson		
San Mateo	U	Carole Groom		NONE
Santa Barbara	S	Das Williams	Gregg Hart	NONE
Santa Clara	U	Susan Ellenberg	Cindy Chavez	NONE
Santa Cruz	S	Bruce McPherson	John Leopold	
Shasta	S	Leonard Moty	Joe Chimenti	NONE
Sierra	R	Lee Adams	Peter Huebner	NONE
Siskiyou	R	Ed Valenzuela	Brandon Criss	NONE
Solano	S	Erin Hannigan	Monica Brown	
Sonoma	S	David Rabbitt	Lynda Hopkins	
Stanislaus	S	Vito Chiesa	Kristin Olsen <sup>5</sup>	
Sutter	R	Dan Flores	Mat Conant	
Tehama	R	Robert Williams	Dennis Garton	NONE
Trinity	R	Judy Morris	Keith Groves	
Tulare	S	Amy Shuklian	Kuyler Crocker	NONE

Tuolumne	R	Ryan Campbell	Daniel Anaiah Kirk	NEW BOARD MEMBER
Ventura	U	Kelly Long	John Zaragoza <sup>5</sup>	
Yolo	S	Jim Provenza	Oscar Villegas	NONE
Yuba	R	Gary Bradford	Randy Fletcher	NEW ALTERNATE

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>The Los Angeles Board approved the current board member and alternate to remain through December, 31st, 2020. On January 1st, 2021, the new board member will be Kathryn Barger and the new alternate will be Hilda Solis.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>The Mariposa Board approved Rosemarie Smallcombe, Merlin Jones, Marshall Long, Kevin Cann to remain as alternates through January 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2021. On January 4<sup>th</sup>, 2021, the new alternates will be Rosemarie Smallcombe, Thomas Sweeney, Marshall Long, and Wayne Forsythe.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup>The Plumas Board approved Supervisor-Elect Greg Hagwood as board member in January 2021.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup>On August 4<sup>th</sup>, the San Benito Board approved Jaime De La Cruz as Board Member (replacing Jim Gillio) and Peter Hernandez as Alternate (replacing Jaime De La Cruz) until December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2020. In January 2021, the Board will appoint a new board member and alternate.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup>A new alternate will be selected in January 2021