CSAC Bulletin Article

Final State Responsibility Area (SRA) Fire Hazard Severity Zones (FHSZs) Map

February 15, 2024

The Office of the State Fire Marshal (OFM) concluded the process of updating the State Responsibility Area (SRA) Fire Hazard Severity Zones (FHSZs) map. The OFM is required to identify areas in the state as moderate, high, and very high fire hazard severity zones based on consistent statewide criteria and the severity of fire hazard expected to prevail in those areas. Within the SRA, The California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection is responsible for fire prevention and suppression. CSAC provided input to the OFM as updates were released throughout the year.

On the final SRA map, 123,000 acres across the state received an updated designation and will become effective April 1, 2024. To view the changes and for more information about FHSZs, visit: osfm.fire.ca.gov/FHSZ.

CSAC will work with the State Fire Marshal on the rollout of the Local Responsibility Area Maps (LRA). LRAs incorporate cities, urban regions, agriculture lands, and portions of the desert where the local government is responsible for wildfire protection.

For any questions or concerns, please contact Catherine Freeman: cfeeman@counties.org.

Navigation Term Highlight

Where We are Located

Navigation Term Highlight

Our 58 Counties