CSAC Bulletin Article

Fire Hazard Severity Zone Map Updates

October 19, 2023

An updated Fire Hazard Severity Zone (FHSZ) map has been released by the Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM). Five counties received an updated designation: Kern, Los Angeles, Orange, San Bernardino, and San Luis Obispo.

  • Change Map 025 | FHSZSRA_23_3, San Luis Obispo Coast, San Luis Obispo County
  • Change Map 026 | FHSZSRA_23_3, Avila Beach area, San Luis Obispo County
  • Change Map 027 | FHSZSRA_23_3, Lebec area, Kern County
  • Change Map 028 | FHSZSRA_23_3, Quail Lake area, Los Angeles County
  • Change Map 029 | FHSZSRA_23_3, Santa Clarita area, Los Angeles County
  • Change Map 030 | FHSZSRA_23_3, Muscoy area, San Bernardino County
  • Change Map 031 | FHSZSRA_23_3, Rancho Mission Viejo area, Orange County

The OSFM is opening public comment for the above listed specified changes only and will be accepted through October 30, 2023. Map changes can be found here and all other information can be found on the OSFM website. Written comment can be submitted through email at FHSZcomments@fire.ca.gov.

Navigation Term Highlight

Where We are Located

Navigation Term Highlight

Our 58 Counties