CSAC Bulletin Article

Initial State and Local Cybersecurity Plan Released

October 19, 2023

Cybersecurity Awareness Month continues! The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) recently approved California’s initial State and Local Cybersecurity Grant Program (SLCGP) Cybersecurity Plan.

Established under Governor Jerry Brown, the California Cybersecurity Task Force is a statewide partnership that serves as an advisory body to the State in matters related to cybersecurity. It is co-led by the California Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) and the California Department of Technology (CDT). Through the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) of 2021, Congress established the State and Local Cybersecurity Improvement Act, which established the State and Local Cybersecurity Grant Program (SLCGP), appropriating $1 billion nationwide to be awarded over four years. On December 27, 2022, California was awarded almost $8 million for SLCGP first-year funding (federal FY22) with Cal OES formally accepting the award on January 23, 2023. Disbursement of these funds are contingent upon the approval of individual projects named in the SLCGP Cybersecurity Plan and will be released to California as the projects are approved.

Within Cal OES, is the California Cybersecurity Integration Center (Cal-CSIC), whose mission is “to reduce the number of cyber threats and attacks in California. The Cal-CSIC’s focus is to respond to cyber threats and attacks that could damage the economy, its critical infrastructure, or computer networks in the state.” In late 2022, Cal-CSIC formed a subcommittee of the California Cybersecurity Task Force called the Cybersecurity Investment Planning Subcommittee (CCTF-CIPS), which serves as the planning committee for the grant. CSAC is a member of the subcommittee.

The SLCGP Cybersecurity Plan was developed in coordination with CCTF-CIPS, CDT, Cal-CSIC, and Cal OES, is a living document, and there will be subsequent revisions.

More information about California’s implementation of SLCGP is available at https://www.caloes.ca.gov/slcgp.

Navigation Term Highlight

Where We are Located

Navigation Term Highlight

Our 58 Counties