CSAC Bulletin Article

National Forests Closed as Wildfires Rage

September 10, 2020

The U.S. Forest Service Pacific Southwest Region announced a temporary closure of all 18 national forests in California due to the wildfires ravaging the state. Earlier this week, the Forest Service closed eight forests in the state including Sequoia, Angeles, Los Padres, Inyo, San Bernardino, Stanislaus, Sierra and Cleveland National Forests.

The organization is now closing the remaining 10 national forests, which include: Eldorado National Forest, Klamath National Forest, Lassen National Forest, Mendocino National Forest, Modoc National Forest, Six Rivers National Forest, Plumas National Forest, Shasta-Trinity National Forest, Tahoe National Forest and the Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit. The Forest Service said this decision will be re-evaluated daily as fire conditions change.

In a bill signing ceremony and press conference on September 9th, Governor Newsom provided an update to the status of many of California’s fires. As of yesterday, there were fifty new starts and twenty eight major complex fires in the state. Several major fires listed by the Governor included the Fork Fire, Bear Fire, and Willow Fire. The Governor expressed optimism that the CZU Fire, LNU Fire, and SCU Fires were all beginning to show signs of improved containment. The Governor also addressed issues related to spotting fires, but was encouraged by predictions of lesser wind in the days ahead. In addition, the Governor also mentioned that California was continuing to receive help from mutual aid from across the US and Canada.

Finally, the Governor mentioned that the state had received two more Fire Management Assistance Grants (FMAGs) from the Federal Government. California has received consistent and helpful support from the federal government including several FMAGS for major fires and Federal Emergency Declarations.

Navigation Term Highlight

Latest CSAC Bulletin

CSAC Bulletin Button
Navigation Term Highlight

Where We are Located

Navigation Term Highlight

Our 58 Counties