CSAC Bulletin Article

Upcoming Workshops on Draft Climate Action Plan for Transportation Infrastructure

April 15, 2021

The California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA) recently released the draft Climate Action Plan for Transportation Infrastructure (CAPTI) and will be extending the public review period to Wednesday, May 19, 2021. The CAPTI is designed to implement the Governor’s Climate Change Executive Order (N-19-19) and describes CalSTA’s draft plans to invest discretionary transportation funds to address climate change and promote public health, safety, and equity.

Key issues for counties presented by the draft include: how changes in competitive programs to implement the plan could interact with needed safety and capacity projects, especially in areas of the state that are still growing rapidly; the ability of counties to compete for funding to add complete streets features and make safety improvements in areas that may be less populous than more urban areas; and opportunities to improve coordination with Caltrans to add and fund improvements that facilitate active transportation and safety, especially where state highways serve as a local main street.

A summary of the draft CAPTI is available in this bulletin article. CSAC will be filing formal comments on the draft and encourages counties to share their feedback and concerns via email to Marina Espinoza at mespinoza@counties.org.

CalSTA will be hosting workshops on the draft CAPTI this month. Upcoming workshop dates are available below.

Hosted by the California Transportation Commission
The purpose of this workshop will be to cover the implementation of the Climate Action Plan for Transportation Infrastructure and each of the seven strategies.

CalSTA has posted follow-up materials from the March 18, 2021, CAPTI overview workshop to the CAPTI webpage. These materials include:

CalSTA is accepting direct feedback on the draft through May 19, 2021, via email to CAPTI@calsta.ca.gov.

Navigation Term Highlight

Where We are Located

Navigation Term Highlight

Our 58 Counties