CSAC Bulletin Article

Health and Human Services 03/01/2013

Rural Managed Care Plans Selected

The state Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) has announced the selection of health plans to provide Medi-Cal Managed Care services in 28 rural counties.

Counties were pleased to see that DHCS listened to and will allow eight northern counties (see list below) to use Partnership Health Plan of California, a County-Organized Health System (COHS) that currently already serves Solano, Sonoma, Napa and Yolo Counties. Eighteen other counties were awarded to Anthem Blue Cross. San Benito will join the Central Alliance for Health – which is another COHS already serving Merced, Monterey, and Santa Cruz Counties – and the state is still seeking plans for serving Imperial County. 

The expansion of Medi-Cal Managed Care to the 28 fee-for-service rural counties was authorized last year via AB 1467 ( Chapter Number 23, Statutes of 2012). The transition is slated to be complete by July 1. For a map of the counties and plans, plus additional resources and information, please visit the DHCS Rural Expansion page

Partnership Health Plan Counties: Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou and Trinity. 

Anthem Blue Cross Counties: Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Inyo, Mariposa, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sierra, Sutter, Tehama, Tuolumne and Yuba.


ABX1 1 (Pérez) – Support
As Introduced on January 28, 2013

ABX1 1, by Assembly Speaker John A. Pérez, would implement provisions of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) to streamline eligibility and enrollment in the state’s Medi-Cal system. 

The Assembly Appropriations Committee passed ABX1 1 on February 25, and the Assembly placed it on their Third Reading File on the 26th. It is our understanding that the Assembly will pass ABX1 1 on March 7 and send it to the Senate. All of these actions are occurring in the Special Session on Health Care Reform.

Navigation Term Highlight

Where We are Located

Navigation Term Highlight

Our 58 Counties