CSAC Bulletin Article

Governor Newsom Proclaims End to 26 States of Emergency

February 2, 2023

On Tuesday, January 31, Governor Newsom signed a proclamation terminating 26 open states of emergency dating back to 2017. These include various fires, prior storms and other incidents including the mpox (formerly referred to as monkeypox) emergency proclaimed in August of last year, coinciding with the termination of the federal public health emergency on mpox.

For the last several weeks, the average number of daily new mpox cases reported to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has hovered in the single digits, dropping from a peak in August 2022 of about 450 cases a day. Over the course of the outbreak, more than 30,000 cases and 26 cases were reported in the United States. In California, more than 5,700 cases and 244 hospitalizations have been reported. California’s swift response to the virus, including local public health efforts focused on protecting community members, providing outreach and education efforts, and effectively and equitably distributing resources helped to mitigate the spread of the virus in local communities.

In addition, various emergency declarations around natural disasters that have occurred within the last few years have ended and are listed below in their respective categories.


A series of declarations addressing fire disasters have been issued since 2017, with the most recent one taking place late last year. 2019, unlike any other year in record, had four Red Flag Warnings, three of which fell within a ten day stretch with one lasting 36 hours. Specifically, October 2019 has been described as a historic month in terms of fire weather and a number of Red Flag Warnings were issued. The following declarations addressing wildfires have ended:

  1. Cherokee, LaPorte, Sulphur, Potter, Nevada, Cascade, Lobo, and Canyon Fires
    1. Counties affected: Butte, Lake, Mendocino, Nevada, and Orange Counties
    2. Declaration began: October 9, 2017
  2. Tubbs and Atlas Fire
    1. Counties affected: Napa, Sonoma, and Yuba
    2. Declaration began: October 9, 2017
  3. Atlas Fire
    1. County affected: Solano
    2. Declaration began: October 10, 2017
  4. Thomas Fire
    1. County affected: Ventura
    2. Declaration began: December 5, 2017
  5. Pawnee Fire
    1. County affected: Lake
    2. Declaration began: June 25, 2017
  6. Klamathon Fire
    1.  County affected: Siskiyou
    2. Declaration began: July 5, 2018
  7. Ferguson Fire:
    1. County affected: Mariposa
    2. Declaration began: July 26, 2018
  8. River Ranch and Steele Fires
    1. Counties affected: Lake, Mendocino, and Napa
    2. Declaration began: July 28, 2018
  9. Holy Fire
    1. Counties affected: Orange and Riverside
    2. Declaration began: August 9, 2018
  10.  Mendocino Complex Fires:
    1. County affected: Colusa
    2. Declaration began: November 29, 2018
  11.  Eagle, Reche, Saddleridge, Sandalwood, and Wolf Fires
    1. Counties affected: Los Angeles and Riverside
    2. Declaration began: October 11, 2019
  12.  Tick and Kincade Fires
    1. Counties affected: Los Angeles and Sonoma
    2. Declaration began: October 25, 2019
  13.  Fire Weather Conditions
    1. Counties affected: Statewide
    2. Declaration began: October 27, 2019
  14.  Colorado Fire
    1. Counties affected: Monterey
    2. Declaration began: July 1, 2022
  15.  Route Fire
    1. Counties affected: Los Angeles
    2. Declaration began: November 19, 2022

As a result of wildfires, the Governor issued an emergency declaration on forest conditions and expedited forest management projects, which is included in this list:


  1.  Forest Conditions
    1. Counties affected: Statewide
    2. Declaration began: March 22, 2019


A series of emergencies classified as storms have also ended in the following counties (please note that this list does not include the declarations addressing the atmospheric rivers that began late December 2022):

  1.  Calaveras, El Dorado, Humboldt, Los Angeles, Marin, Mendocino, Modoc, Mono, Monterey, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Shasta, Tehama, Trinity, Ventura, and Yolo
    1. Declaration began: February 21, 2019
  2.  Amador, Glenn, Lake, Mendocino, and Sonoma:
    1. Declaration began: February 28, 2019
  3.  Butte, Colusa, Del Norte, Mariposa, Napa, Santa Cruz, Solano, and Tuloumne
    1. Declaration began: April 12, 2019
  4.  Plumas and Tehama
    1. Declaration began: July 16, 2022

The Oroville Dam crisis, caused as a result of heavy rainfall, also resulted in an Emergency being declared and is included in this list:

  1.  Spillway at Oroville Dam
    1. Counties affect: Butte, Sutter, and Yuba
    2. Declaration began: February 12, 2017


A couple of declarations categorized as earthquakes dating back to 2019 have also ended in the following counties:

  1. Kern County
    1. Declaration began: July 4, 2019
  2. San Bernardino County
    1. Declaration began: July 5, 2019


  1.  Energy
    1. Counties affected: Statewide
    2. Declaration began: July 30, 2019
  2. Pipeline Spill
    1. Counties affected: Orange
    2. Declaration began: October 4, 2021
Navigation Term Highlight

Where We are Located

Navigation Term Highlight

Our 58 Counties